Being Selfish About Discoveries

To what extent should you share yourself? By sharing yourself, I mean sharing your interests, desires, experiences, etc etc. I’ve been debating this topic for a long time, but I never went beyond what was obvious and known. There will be times when I find a new band or a restaurant by myself or others, and I don’t want anybody else finding out about it. When I first read the Hunger Games series, I was in LOVE. I thought I was so cool because it wasn’t popular then, and to me, things that aren’t popular meant that it was more cool. After a couple months, the series became well known, and my friend started reading it. I’m not sure what happened, but I remember we reached an argument about how she was “copying” me by reading what I liked. I called her a copycat because she liked my thing! Sometimes I’ll find something awesome, and I don’t want to share it with anybody because it’s MY thing, it’s what sets me apart from everybody else. I didn’t like how when I did tell someone my discovery, that they would go off telling other people about it like they were the ones that discovered. I understand now, that this stems from the idea of wanting to be different and that it doesn’t matter where the source comes from-but who it inspires. The reason why I don’t like talking about certain things, is so that I stay different. To this day, I still have the same aspect of not wanting to share something that I love, opposed to the people who love sharing anything. If the secret you’re keeping has the ability to inspire, should it be worth sharing? The pros of keeping something to yourself is that you get to feel special. The cons of keeping something to yourself, is that when you’re in a conversation and something reminds you of that secret, you don’t share it because you care more about people finding out. Overall it’s better to share your thoughts with others than being a hermit crab that gets grumpy about other people having the same thoughts. I guess to me, the main reason why I want to keep things a secret is so I can get “brownie points”, but I learned that knowing something cool isn’t what actually makes you cool.

kristen stewart

Leave a Reply

