Don’t Be a Weenie

My 9th grade English teacher once told me about how she turned down the chance of meeting Ray Bradbury. Well, she wasn’t technically going to meet him, but the job was to show Bradbury around her school or something like that. She told us that she turned down the offer because she was shy. I couldn’t believe it! She turned down Ray Bradbury, I mean, opportunities like this don’t come so often and to put something down because of fear, is kind of sad. She ended the story by telling us how rueful she was and I felt the same aching pain so I started thinking, why do we let fear stump us? In fact, why do we allow our emotions to dictate our actions? Some feelings are temporary, and if everyone acted based on how they felt, this world would be more chaotic. I hope to never come across a situation where I let my fear get in the way of something I want. It’s so easy to tell yourself to ignore fear’s presence ,but then you start wandering off and thinking about all the worst things that could happen. You start making excuses and by the time you’ve made your decision, it’s already too late. And now you’re realizing that fighting over something you know you wanted to do, was just a waste of time. It’s not a bad thing that you’re missing out on something, but the fact that you convinced yourself that you were defeated, is what makes the difference. We should be able to explore things free from judgement or fear. Kick down the door to your comfort zone, and venture what you please because I’ve never heard anyone envy about people who live life “safely”. By “safely” I mean getting rid of the things that aren’t in your daily routine and only sticking to the things that you have become used to. Adventurous people are more fun because they’re willing to do what most people are afraid to do. Now I’m not saying you should go jumping off cliffs, but a little fear in our lives keeps it exciting.

eeeesh

3 Comments

  1. I agree with your point, fear seems to stop us from doing what we aspire to do and in the end we just end up regretting that decision. Things will make you go out of your comfort zone but if we pass up the opportunity, we’ll end up regretting what we could’ve done but didn’t. Doing things that are different than what you’re used is not only adventurous and fun, you get to learn more about the world, things you never knew and would’ve never found out if you never got out of your bubble. This doesn’t mean do spontaneous things that are dangerous but do things that excite you and don’t let fear hold you back, you just need to spread your wings and fly.

    Like

  2. Yeees! I can relate so much! I always scared that I’m not good enough or people will judge me but then I feel like I’m missing out on so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

