A Few Complaints About Texting

Teenagers are supposed to be the “pros” of texting. I, on the other hand, am NOT a pro when it comes to texting. In fact, texting has always been complicated. It’s a great alternative to calling someone, when you don’t want to hear their voice, or your own. You can type out poop emojis to express fear, joy, pain, anger, but that’s what makes emojis confusing and people can misinterpret your message easily and often.

poop emoji

Figuring out the tone of a text can be as complex as watching shutter island at the age of seven. Key and Peele’s video about “Text Message Confusion” is a perfect example of how two people interpret one message. *Beware* profanity is to be expected( The title even says uncensored). You can always ask what the person meant in their message, but who wants to ask that regularly. It’s like asking someone what an acronym is every time they use it, it’s tiring.

doc

Texting can be like the guessing game, you can go from using playful nicknames to getting into fight you weren’t aware of until they told you. There are so many youtube videos, vines, and memes about text messages going wrong. Then there’s this whole ordeal of when to text someone back, and waiting at least three days or some mumbo jumbo.

okayokay

There is no amount of question marks and exclamation points to express your frustration correctly unlike a call, in which you’re able to sigh,laugh, scream, etc .Texting the word “sigh” or “ugh” doesn’t have the same effect as saying it out loud. You also can’t be sarcastic in text, which is unfortunate. I tried one time, but it ended up in a messy argument.

sarcasm_font_sticker

When you’re in a call with someone, you can detect how they feel and conversations are more sincere because it’s like talking to someone face to face. The reason why there are so many haters on the internet is because they don’t feel the repercussion they would get when they would actually say it in person. However this can also work to an advantage, if you’re too afraid to say something in person it’s easier to type it down.

crying man

Another thing I’d liked to point out, is read receipts. Dang those read receipts, I’ll be texting someone and waiting for their reply back when I see that sneaky word on the bottom labeled :“Read” . What is up with people reading your messages and not replying back? I know who’s not going to be invited to my ultra extravaganza laser tag birthday party next year.

Wat8

If texting is complicated right now, I don’t know where I’ll be once everyone starts riding hoverboards. I miss having hour long phone conversations with close friends and being able to express how I feel during the moment. Phone calls are superior to texting when it comes building relationships and getting to know someone better. We’ve all heard those stories about people breaking up over the phone, but it’s worse when you text someone that you want to break up with them. When it comes to convenience texting is the better option, because who has time to call people nowadays? But overall ,I’d rather pick rare phone calls over conveniences. 

5 Comments

  1. Thank goodness, I’m not the only one.
    I’m not caught up on all the text language like “tmi” and all of that. I didn’t even know what “tfti” was until last month because of how much I try not to use text or messagers.
    Plus texting is confusing–I definitely agree with you there. Maybe it’s just me, but phone calls take a click and a quick word out of the mouth while texting takes a bunch of time just to express your anger and like you said your, “ughh.”
    But yes, I think texting is ruining our source of contact with people around us and at this era now, it’s only going to get worse if we don’t have that awareness to stop. Thank you for being that awareness. This post has an amazing message to everyone in this world, especially to all teens. Good job! 🙂

    Like

    • Haha very true! Sometimes I can’t catch up with “imig” and all the new acronyms.
      I feel like having your voice heard is more genuine too.
      Calls also get awkward when you’re texting all the time, I’ve experienced it a lot! Sometimes I wonder if other people think about this too, and I’m glad you do. Thank you for your comment! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah, I can definitely relate to this post. People have different texting styles so one word could have another meaning and you’re like, “oh no, they’re mad at me” but in reality that’s just how they text. The Key and Peele video totally makes the point of this post, haha.

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on Toeses Are Roses and commented:
    It is so fascinating how our lifestyle has evolved. With all these fancy upgrades in technology and the internet, we have definitely developed a closed-knit relationship with the way we prefer to speak to others through those sources. Teenagers–these people who will be running, watching, CONTROLLING our lives in the near future–are losing that sense of interaction and capability to be social and to be strong leaders.
    Technology, while it has its benefits, is blocking our young minds to see the value of the true world. With texting especially, we’ve grown a liking toward a somewhat lazy lifestyle where visiting a friend’s house or meeting up at a skating rink–something that expands your life’s experiences– is less appealing than staring at a screen, seeing nothing but flashing words and lights.
    For me personally, I barely text unless necessary. I find it difficult to process what the sender is trying to say. And it doesn’t make it easier now that we’ve created all these other word options such as, “gg,” and “tfti.” I much rather speak what I want to say through a call taking or face to face than spend my time typing everything word by word, so this posts perfectly gathers all my emotions toward texting and communicating.

    Like

Leave a Reply

